December 1, 2023
vMQA learnership online application

MQA Learnership Online Application | Apply Now

Are you looking to kickstart your career in the mining industry? If so, the MQA Learnership program may be the perfect opportunity for you.

In this post, we’ll take a closer look at the MQA Learnership program, including the types of learnerships available, the requirements to apply, and how to apply.

About MQA

The Mining Qualifications Authority (MQA) is a Sector Education and Training Authority (SETA) responsible for the skills development of the mining and minerals sector in South Africa. The MQA Learnership program is one of their initiatives aimed at providing learners with the skills and knowledge required to succeed in the mining industry.

Types of MQA Learnerships

The MQA offers a range of learnerships, each designed to provide learners with the skills and knowledge required for a specific role in the mining industry. The types of learnerships available include:

The Mining Qualifications Authority (MQA) offers a range of learnership opportunities to help individuals gain the skills and knowledge needed for a successful career in this industry. Two common pathways are MQA Artisan Learnerships and MQA Non-Artisan Learnerships. In this post, we’ll explore the differences between these two types of learnerships to help you make an informed decision about your career path.

MQA Artisan Learnership

Artisan learnerships are designed for individuals who want to become skilled craftsmen in trades such as electricians, boilermakers, fitters, welders, and more. These learnerships focus on developing hands-on, technical skills that are essential in the mining and minerals sector. Here are some key points to consider about MQA Artisan Learnerships:

  1. Specialized Training: Artisan learnerships are highly specialized and provide in-depth training in a specific trade. The goal is to prepare individuals for a career as a qualified artisan.
  2. Hands-On Experience: Artisan learnerships emphasize practical, hands-on training. This means learners will spend a significant amount of time working with tools, machinery, and equipment relevant to their chosen trade.
  3. Certification: Successful completion of an MQA Artisan Learnership leads to formal certification as a qualified artisan, recognized throughout the mining and minerals sector.
  4. Employability: Artisan learnerships significantly enhance your employability as a skilled professional in your chosen trade. Many mining and minerals companies seek certified artisans to meet their technical needs.

MQA Non-Artisan Learnership

Non-artisan learnerships, on the other hand, provide training in various aspects of the mining and minerals sector that do not require artisanal skills. These learnerships are more diverse and encompass areas such as mine management, administration, geology, and more. Here’s what you need to know about MQA Non-Artisan Learnerships:

  1. Diverse Career Opportunities: Non-artisan learnerships open the door to a wide range of career opportunities within the mining and minerals sector. These roles are typically more administrative or managerial in nature.
  2. Theoretical and Practical Training: While non-artisan learnerships do provide practical training, they also include a strong theoretical component, focusing on knowledge and skills necessary for roles that do not require artisanal skills.
  3. Certification and Qualifications: Successful completion of a non-artisan learnership often leads to relevant qualifications or certifications that are valuable for positions such as mine managers, administrators, and geological assistants.
  4. Career Progression: Non-artisan learnerships can serve as a stepping stone for career progression in the mining and minerals sector. Many individuals who start in non-artisan roles may eventually move into management or specialized positions.

What are the Requirements for MQA Learnership?

To be eligible for an MQA Learnership, applicants must meet certain requirements, including:

  1. South African citizenship or permanent residency.
  2. A valid Grade 12 certificate or equivalent qualification.
  3. A minimum of N2 qualification in the relevant field of the learnership.
  4. Be medically fit for the mining environment.
  5. Be able to pass the MQA Learnership selection process.

How to Apply 

To apply for an MQA Learnership, follow these simple steps:

1. Visit the MQA website and browse the available learnerships to find one that suits your interests and qualifications.

2. Download the application form for the learnership you wish to apply for.

3. Fill in the application form with accurate and up-to-date information.

4. Attach certified copies of your qualifications and identity documents.

5. Submit the completed application form and attachments to the address provided on the application form.

The MQA Learnership program is an excellent opportunity for individuals looking to start a career in the mining industry. With a range of learnerships available, there is something for everyone, regardless of their background or qualifications.

If you meet the eligibility requirements and are interested in applying for an MQA Learnership, be sure to follow the application process carefully and submit your application before the deadline.

We hope this post has provided you with a comprehensive guide to the MQA Learnership program. Good luck with your application!

Related Opportunities

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *